Click to Go Back to search resultsBack to search results
Still Some Light [Digipak] by Bill Fay (...
Photo contributed by #M#.This product photo was contributed by the community member attributed here.
Product description:Full product description
Personnel: Ray Russell (guitar); Alan Rushton (drums).Liner Note Author: Bill Fay.Photographers: Sarah Merci‚re; Sarah Fay; John Fay; Rauf Galip.In his extensive liner notes t...Read more

Product description

Album Features
Artist:Bill Fay
Release Year:2010
Record Label:Coptic Cat
Genre:British Folk Rock, Rock & Pop
Number Of Discs:2

Track Listing
1. Backwoods Maze
2. The Sun Is Bored
3. There's a price Upon My Head
4. Time of the Last Persecution
5. Plan D
6. Sing Us One of Your Songs May
7. I Will Find My Own Way Back
8. Love Is the Tune
9. Laughing Man
10. Arnold Is a Simple Man
11. Just to Be a Part
12. Inside the Keeper's Pantry
13. Pictures of Adolf Again
14. Tell It Like It Is
15. Release Is in the Eye
16. Dust Filled Room
17. I Hear You Calling

1. My Eyes Open
2. Solace Flies In
3. Long Way from Tipperary
4. All Must Have a Dream
5. War Machine
6. There Is a Valley
7. Road of Hope
8. Jericho Road
9. City of Dreams
10. Time to Wake Up Now
11. Hello Old Tree
12. Anthems
13. Still Some Light
14. Fill This World with Peace
15. I Will Remain Here
16. Diamond Studded Days
17. God Give Them Rest
18. Keep Turning the Pages
19. Your Life Inside
20. I Thought I Heard Someone
21. Be at Peace with Yourself
22. All at Once
23. Peace on Earth
24. One Day
25. Here Beneath the Vail
26. I Wonder

Playing Time:123 min.
Distributor:Revolver USA
Recording Type:Studio
Recording Mode:Stereo
SPAR Code:n/a

Album Notes
Personnel: Ray Russell (guitar); Alan Rushton (drums).Liner Note Author: Bill Fay.Photographers: Sarah Merci‚re; Sarah Fay; John Fay; Rauf Galip.In his extensive liner notes to this double-disc, Bill Fay claims that only David Tibet would have released Still Some Light, a collection of demos from 1970 and 1971 gathered from various sources, and a disc of new songs. So it is Tibet we must thank as well. Fay is the British singer/songwriter whose first two albums -- Bill Fay and Time of the Last Persecution -- were issued by Decca in the early '70s to favorable reviews and poor sales. They disappeared until the 21st century, where they have been rightfully regarded as lost classics. The first disc in this collection features demos that Fay and his bandmates had lying about for decades. The fact that these relationships continued after the music stopped says a lot about all of the respect and trust for one another these men have. Fay plays piano, organ, acoustic guitar, and sings, while Alan Rushton is on drums, Daryl Runswick on bass, and Ray Russell on electric guitar. Fay's love of creation, his belief in a higher authority, and the consequences of human folly in caring for it, are at the heart of his argument on the song demos on disc one. The music is mostly melancholy and dark, even foreboding, but Fay is not a preacher, nor is he a prophet: there isn't a hint of self-righteousness in his approach, but a poetic sadness imbued with compassion. Whether it's the original demo for "Time of the Last Persecution" (his unique reading of the Book of Revelation), "Pictures of Adolph Again," "Love Is the Tune," or "Release Is in the Eye," they all reflect these concerns. The simple, even rudimentary recordings on disc two reveal that despite holding working class jobs for decades after his music career, Fay continued to write fine songs simply for himself. Their tone is lighter, offering glimmers of hope in darkened corners. Twenty-four of the 26 remarkable tracks are self-penned. The exceptions are set-opener "My Eyes Open," featuring Fay plaintively (and beautifully) singing over cellist/composer Michael Cashmore's instrumental, and the closer "I Wonder," written by brother John Fay (whose artwork adorns this gorgeous package). Three tracks here are the original versions of songs that appeared on Fay's widely acclaimed 2012 album Life Is People: "There Is a Valley," "Be at Peace with Yourself," and "City of Dreams." They reflect the humility and dignity in his approach. Songs such as "Jericho Road," the title cut, "Solace Flies In," "Your Life Inside," "Fill This World with Peace," and "I Will Remain Here" are almost prayers, yet are imbued with such a gentle but pronounced musicality that they touch the profound. For anyone at all interested in Fay, Still Some Light is an essential collection that underscores a well-deserved reputation only recently cemented. All of the artists' proceeds from the sale of the album will be donated to M‚decins Sans FrontiŠres (Doctors Without Borders). ~ Thom Jurek

eBay Product ID: EPID80198202
Portions of this page Copyright 1948 - 2014 Muze Inc. All rights reserved.

Additional site navigation

Bubble Opens Help Start of layer
Bubble Help End of layer