2 min article

Account holds, restrictions, and suspensions

We may occasionally restrict or suspend accounts to protect our community. If your eBay account is restricted or suspended, we’ll email you with the steps you need to take to have your account reinstated.

If we've placed a hold, restriction, or suspension on your account, we’ll send you an email explaining what happened and what you need to do to get your account back. You’ll find a copy of this message in your Messages.

Why your account was suspended or restricted

Holds, restrictions, or suspensions are usually placed on accounts for one of the following reasons:

  • You have eBay fees to pay
  • You need to reimburse eBay for a refund we made to your buyer
  • You have violated one of our rules or policies
  • We couldn't verify your account information
  • You need to update your payment method

How to have your account reinstated

Getting your account reinstated may be as simple as waiting for a temporary suspension to finish, making changes to your listings, or sending us some more information—it depends on the reason we suspended your account. The full details will be in the message we've sent you.

If your account was restricted or suspended because of outstanding seller fees or a refund reimbursement, you can make a one-time payment to resolve the issue. When we receive your payment, your account will be reinstated.

To make a one-time payment:

  1. Go to Account - opens in new window or tab in My eBay.
  2. Beside Payment methods for seller fees, select One-time payment, and follow the instructions.

Make a one-time payment - opens in new window or tab

Tip
Most account restrictions or suspensions can be resolved by making a one-time payment or by following the steps we gave you in the email in your Messages.

What happens while an account is suspended

When your eBay account is suspended, you won't be able to:

  • bid, buy, or sell
  • leave feedback
  • create new listings or revise existing listings
  • contact bidders
  • reply to your eBay messages

Any bidders on your existing listings can retract their bids. When your account is reinstated, you’ll be able to leave feedback for any transactions you completed in the previous 30 days.

Depending on why your account was suspended, we may end listings early. If we remove listings because of a policy violation, eligibility for a fee credit will depend on the situation and any previous policy violations will be taken into account. These credits can be viewed on the account activity page of My eBay. Keep in mind that listing fees can be forfeited too, depending on the reason for suspension.

Verification holds for managed payments sellers

As part of registering for managed payments, we need to confirm your identity and bank account details so you can receive your payouts. We’ll place a temporary hold on your account until we can verify your details. Once this is complete, we’ll email you to let you know your account has been activated for managed payments and the hold has been removed from your account.

If your account has already been activated for managed payments, your payouts will be blocked until your suspension, restriction or non-payment hold is resolved.

Find out more about managed payments on eBay.

Fake account hold and suspension notices

Watch out for spoof (fake) emails about account holds or suspensions. To confirm that an email was sent from eBay, check your eBay Messages - opens in new window or tab. If you can’t find a copy of the email there, then it wasn’t from eBay. Learn how to recognize spoof emails.
 

If your account is on hold, restricted, or suspended, we'll send an email to your registered email address and to your eBay Messages explaining why. We'll also let you know what you need to do before it can be reinstated.

Was this article helpful for you?

Related help topics