Closing your accounts on eBay
Is there anything we can do to help?
We value your participation in the eBay community and we'd be sorry to see you go.
Before you decide to close any of your accounts with eBay, we'd like to help you solve any problem you might be having.
Closing your eBay account
Here's how to close your eBay account:
Be sure that all your fees are paid and your account balance is zero.
Resolve any suspensions or restrictions.
Do not have any open bids.
Quick answers about closing your eBay account
Will my account be closed immediately?
No, there's a waiting period of 30 days if there are no active transactions, or 60 days to ensure that any transactions you made are complete.
During the waiting period, you may cancel your account closure request by contacting us.
Can I reopen my account?
No, you can’t reopen your account with the same username or email address, but you can create a new account.
If you change your mind about closing your account during the waiting period, contact us to cancel your account closure.
What happens to my account after it’s closed?
You’ll no longer be able to use the username or email address associated with your closed account to access any part of eBay that requires an account, and your Feedback Profile will no longer be available to other members. If your account is in good standing, your personal data will also be deleted.
Can I close my account if it’s been suspended or restricted?
If your account has been suspended or restricted, you will need to contact us to see if it is eligible for closure.
Can I close my account if it's currently below standard?
If your account is no longer meeting minimum standards, you will need to contact us to see if it is eligible for closure.
What if I have an outstanding balance on my account?
Before closing your account, make a one-time payment so there's no balance remaining in your account.
What if there's still money in my account?
Request a refund before you close the account. When you close the account, the account balance must be zero.
What happens to Feedback that I’ve left for others?
The Feedback you've left for other users won’t be deleted when you close your account. If your username is your email address, you might want to change it before requesting to close your account.
What does eBay do with my personal information after I close my account?
Closing your seller's account
If you want to keep your eBay account but no longer want to sell items, you can deactivate your seller's account. You’ll still be able to bid and make purchases, but if you later want to sell items, you'll have some restrictions.
To deactivate your seller's account, remove your payment information for your credit or bank account. On your seller account page, click the Remove payment method link.
You may continue to accrue fees for any listings you have on the site, as well as monthly fees if you have any active subscriptions such as eBay Stores. Make sure you cancel any subscriptions.
If you have any outstanding balances, please make a one-time payment before you close your seller's account. Learn more about making a one-time payment. If you've still got a credit in the account, request a refund.
Closing your PayPal account
You don’t have to close your PayPal account when you close your eBay account. However, if you decide to close your PayPal account, you won’t be able to make any purchases using PayPal or view your PayPal account history.
To close your PayPal account:
Log in to your PayPal account.
Click the Close Account link in the Account Information column.
Click the Continue button.
Click the Close Account button.
Contact PayPal customer support for help with your PayPal account.
Closing your eBay Store
When you close your Store, you can choose to end or keep all your fixed price listings.
To close your eBay Store:
In the Account tab, click the Subscriptions link.
Under Active subscriptions, find the eBay Stores subscription and click either Change Level or Cancel Subscription
If you have bundled subscriptions with your eBay Store (for example, Selling Manager or another selling tool), select the appropriate option to specify whether you want to keep the subscriptions at the new monthly fee or unsubscribe.
If you are sure you want to cancel your eBay Stores subscription, click the Close store button.
Note: Canceling a store may affect your subscription fees to other products (for example: Selling Manager) and the rate you pay for your fixed price listings.
Contact us if you need help.
Contact Customer Support
If you're looking for more help or have a question to ask, please contact us.
Have a question? We can help.
Get help from other eBay members. Visit the Answer Centre to post a question.